Lord's Taverners Spirit of Cricket Award


In 2002 Lord's Taverners WA approached the WA Cricket Association and offered to sponsor an annual award to recognise the "Spirit of Cricket" ethos at grade cricket level. The two bodies jointly developed a points system which requires umpires to award votes in each of the four senior WACA Pennant grades each week.

At the conclusion of the season a commemorative plaque is presented to the club which achieved the highest number of points across all grades. A perpetual trophy bearing the name of each year's winner is located permanently in the Lillee Marsh Stand at the WACA Ground.

The Spirit of Cricket concept was introduced to other states in 2003 and was subsequently embraced by Cricket Australia, which now offers a number of similar awards at the highest levels of domestic cricket.In Western Australia, the Spirit of Cricket Awards have been extended to the Senior Country Week Competition and to the WACA Women's and Junior Competitions. Annual Trophies for these competitions are also donated by Lord's Taverners WA. 

2002-03:  University
2003-04:  Willetton
2004-05:  Willetton
2005-06:  Subiaco Floreat
2006-07:  Gosnells
2007-08:  Subiaco Floreat
2008-09:  Willetton
2009-10:  Gosnells
2010-11:  Willetton
2011-12:  Willetton
2012-13:  Scarborough
2013-14:    Melville
2014-15:  Subiaco Floreat

 Bayswater Morley

 Rockingham Mandurah

2016-17: Claremont-Nedlands
2017-18: Claremont-Nedlands
2018-19: Fremantle
2019-20: Fremantle
2020-21: Fremantle 
2021-22: Gosnells

2012-13:    South Perth
2013-14:    Melville
2014-15:    University
2015-16:    South Perth
2016-17:   South Perth
2017-18:   Rockingham Mandurah
2018-19:   University
2019-20:   Perth
2020-21:   Rockingham-Mandurah
2021-22:   Rockingham-Mandurah

2009-10:    Bayswater-Morley
2011-12:    Subiaco Floreat
2012-13:    South Perth
2013-14:    Midland-Guildford
2014-15:    Gosnells
2015-16:   Subiaco Floreat 
2016-17:   Midland Guildford
2017-18:   Centurions (Joondalup)
2018-19:   Claremont-Nedlands
2019-20:   Joondalup
2020-21:   Claremont-Nedlands
2021-22:   Mount Lawley