Female Premier Cricket Review - Sunday 13th January 2019
Date of Event Western Australian Cricket Association: Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:00AM

The Female Premier Cricket Competition continued on Sunday 13th January as Round 9 of the A & B Grade T20 Competitions were played...


A Grade


Midland Guildford 5/99 def by University 4/155


Some high scoring runs were witnessed at Lilac Hill on Sunday morning. University was sent into bat by Midland Guildford having won the toss and it seemed to work in their favour. Elizabeth Dawson from Midland Guildford took an early wicket getting Tansi Price out for a lbw on 15 runs, however, Emily Smith (66) and Beth Wimbush (44) stepped up to the plate making a commendable partnership of 113 runs. Midland Guildford had a big run chase ahead of them with Dawson setting the pace for the side top scoring with 36. Dawson and Sheldyn Cooper (27) held the teams highest partnership of 47 runs. Wimbush took 2 wickets with Price and Regina Deleeuw both taking a wicket each. Midland Guildford’s innings resulted in a final score of 5/99 across the full 20 overs.


South Perth 10/100 def by Subiaco Floreat 8/103


Richardson Park saw a very competitive match against South Perth and Subiaco Floreat. The 1st ball of the match was a run out with Georgia Wyllie taking 3 wickets and Melissa Cameron and Silver Siegers taking 2 wickets, keeping Subiaco Floreat’s partnerships low. Top scorers for Subiaco Floreat included Emily Johnston (20), Jessica Emery (22) and Kathryn Handicott (27).  South Perth started off their batting innings very strong with opening batsmen Cameron making 45 runs and Emily Hessell making 21 runs. Subiaco Floreat’s bowlers Emery and Sophie Fletcher applied the pressure taking 3 wickets each. The matches result came down to the final ball with South Perth needing 4 to win and but fell just short with Subiaco Floreat taking a wicket.



B Grade


Midland Guildford 6/100 def University 4/99


Midland Guildford defeated University comfortably even after Sinead Kirsten’s 56 run effort off 40 balls faced. Having Kirsten set the pace for University with eight 4’s and one 6 made, the team was looking confident, however the match began to slow down with University’s Alisha Kozma taking 4 wickets resulting in a team score of 4/99. Kirsten backed up her excellent batting performance with 3 wickets taken in Midland Guildford’s batting innings. Elise Urquhart, Suman Yadav and Clare Bandy backed up Kirsten all taking 1 wicket each. It didn’t stop Midland Guildford’s batters however, with Madeline Gardiner top scoring with 32 and the team making a total of 100 runs in 17.1 overs and claiming the win.


Melville 1/52 def Rockingham Mandurah 8/51


Melville showed confidence at Tompkins Park after winning the toss and electing to field first. It was an excellent bowling effort by Melville with 6 players taking at least 1 wicket each. Alana Jones and Jessica Row also made 2 maiden overs as well as their wickets. It was evident Rockingham Mandurah was feeling the pressure with the highest score being 10 runs by both Eleanor Britton and Ashley Heazlewood. With 18 extra runs awarded to Rockingham Mandurah, the side achieved 51 runs. Melville took the win with 52 runs in just 8.1 overs resulting in an early finish to the match. Row top scored with 26no followed by Lauren Thompson with 12 before Bonnie Crook took the one and only wicket for Rockingham Mandurah.


South Perth 3/90 def Subiaco Floreat 7/53


The first of the Sunday morning B Grade games was held at Richardson Park where South Perth took on Subiaco Floreat. Subiaco Floreat won the toss resulting in South Perth batting first. Monica Rallabhandi (22) and Lauren Russo (32) top scored aiding the teams total of 3/90. It deemed a reasonable run chase for Subiaco Floreat, however South Perth’s bowlers were determined to win. Sienna Ryan took 2 wickets whilst Jean McKinlay, Alisha Ward and Danni Dewsbury all took 1. Dewsbury also managed 3 maiden overs which slowed down Subiaco Floreat’s momentum considerably. The team only scored 53 which wasn’t enough to win after Danielle Vandenbok top scoring with 16, followed by Samantha McClurg with 15 runs.





Last updated: Tuesday January 15, 2019 12:40PM