WA Female Premier Cricket Review - Sunday 15th December 2019
Date of Event Western Australian Cricket Association: Mon Dec 16, 2019 4:00PM

It was T20 Grand Final Day on Sunday 15th December as South Perth hosted the A Grade T20, B Grade T20 and Youth League T20 Grand Finals at Richardson Park...


A Grade T20 – Grand Final


South Perth 4/95 def Melville 5/94

South Perth won the toss and sent Melville into bat first in the A Grade T20 Grand Final, and it was a decision that quickly paid dividends as the Storm slipped to 4/22, thanks to quick wickets from Molly Healy and Cassie Stephens. Meg Thompson (34no) and skipper Niamh Walsh (30) combined at a crucial juncture to add 54 for the fifth wicket and stage a comeback. A late flurry took Melville to 5/94 with South Perth's Soniya Yadav taking 2/14 from 3 overs. The South Perth chase got off to a steady start as Chloe Wain (24) stamped her authority on the chase, but Ashlee King (2/24) had other ideas, striking to have South Perth fall to 3/57 and leave a glimmer of hope for the Storm. However Ashley Day (24no) and Rachel Delaney (10no) combined together to had 22 for the 5th wicket and take South Perth home with 15 balls to spare for their first A Grade T20 Flag!


B Grade T20 –  Grand Final


Subiaco Floreat  65 All Out def by South Perth 9/65 (South Perth Won on Super Over)

South Perth won a thrilling B Grade T20 Grand Final at Richardson Park over a desperately unlucky Subiaco Floreat in amazing circumstances at Richardson Park. South Perth won the toss and chose to bat first, but could only muster 9/65 off their 20 overs due to a fantastic bowling display from Subiaco Floreat. Lara Maritz (25) and Loren Russo (13) would be the only players for South Perth to score double figures, as Emily Johnston (2/5) and Katie Sala Tenna (2/3) were absolutely clinical with the bowl. A target of 66 would not look to be too much for Subiaco Floreat, but strange things happen in Grand Finals, and Subiaco Floreat were instantly on the back foot in the chase after they slipped to 4/11 thanks to Hannah Felton (2/18) and Lara Maritz (3/6). Cassie MacKenzie kept Subiaco Floreat in the game with 22, and Katie Sala Tenna with 13, but when Kellie McGhie was caught by Hanna Felton off the bowling of Sarah Patman, the scores were tied and the game would move into a Super Over to decide who would win the B Grade T20 Grand Final! Subiaco Floreat were only able to post 4 in their Super Over however, and South Perth were able to pass that target with 2 balls remaining for a famous victory!


Youth League T20 – Grand Final


Melville 4/147 def South Perth 6/108

Undefeated Ladder leaders Melville won the toss and chose to bat first in the Youth League Grand Final, but unfortunately lost Lauren Thompson first ball, and soon after Chloe Ainsworth as well to slip to 2/9. Gorgia Platten and Rebecca McGrath had other ideas but for Melville, adding 78 for the third wicket before Platten's untimely run out for 49 off just 40 balls. Sam Pope stepped up for the Storm though upon Platten's departure, making 39 not out from just 33 balls, as she helped Melville post an imposing total of 4/147 from their 20 overs. The South Perth chase got off to a steady start as Sienna Ryan (22) and Poppy Stockwell (22) tried their best to get South Perth ahead of the chase, but the Storm bowling attack would ultimately prove to be too strong and too disciplined for South Perth. South Perth would finish 6/108 from their 20 overs, as Melville became Youth League T20 Premiers for the first time by 39 runs.

Last updated: Monday December 16, 2019 6:56PM